Shadows

You followed me up

and you followed me down.

Seeing from where I stood

and leaned

and looked.

Curious.

I wanted to see through your eyes,

a world so green and blue.

I wanted to walk in your shoes,

to know,

to feel,

like you.

In the absent dark

you were

lighting up the air.

Burning and igniting me.

I could hear your breathing there,

between birds calling,

guiding each other home.

Amplified by emptiness,

your voice a soothing tone.

If I was truly trapped there,

I would not have tried to flee.

I would be content there,

for as long as you’re with me.

Leave a Reply

