Double negative

I was only five minutes from home but a recently watched episode of Crimewatch had dampened my confidence in the safety of the dark. It was 3am and my high heels were trying to reject my feet. I steadied myself with the wall and stumbled around the corner into the subway. My shoes had succeeded in their mission when I gave up, crouching to take them off. The pavement was cracked and uneven and I struggled to keep my balance. A man emerged from the shadows, walking towards me and holding out his hand. As he smiled I imagined his face as an e-fit. “I aint gonna cause you no harm”. On receipt of his threat I leaped up, hit him hard in the face with my shoe and ran barefoot all the way home.

Leave a Reply

